Vegan Maple Cranberry Walnut Salad

Okkkk time for a simple easy salad!

Normally salad is the thing I eat when all other options have failed me.  “I must eat healthy!” I say to myself every morning.  And then by mid afternoon I’ve somehow convinced myself that surely stopping at my favorite Mexican restaurant and having a soy latte and bit if chocolate isn’t really so bad, I’ll just do some exercise that night!

But by night time I think to myself…. “Well, since I already messed up earlier in the day I might as well just have whatever I want for dinner this one last time and then seriously for real tomorrow I will be a HEALTH GOD! I won’t even want anything unhealthy at all!”

I go out to eat and get something like vegan Mac and cheese or fried rice, so proud of myself for the healthy godlike achievements I will make tomorrow.  “Great work future me, you are a super hero!”

image

Umm.. you might have realized by now that this future reality only really exists in my tomorrow mind, it rarely ever comes true.  If you’re at all like me the this salad is a great way to try to combat your evil double that takes over your body and forces you to have Mexican food and chocolate for lunch.

It’s actually pretty tasty, and satisfies my sugar craving because of the sweet dressing and candied nuts.  Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

A salad blend with light greens (leafy lettuces, spinach, arugula)

3 tablespoons maple syrup

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1/2 tablespoon lemon

1/4 cup of raw or candied walnuts

Handful of cranberries

Siracha to taste

Himalayan sea salt

Optionally you can add vegan chicken or some quinoa to this recipe too!

Instructions:

Step 1: in a small bowl mix the maple syrup, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, and siracha together.  Feel free to add more of any of the he ingredient to make it a desirable level of sweet and sour for you.

Spicy Lemon Maple Dressing

Step 2:  Get a big bowl and put some salad in it!  I’m not telling you how much to use, you have to make some of your own choices!  Then put the dressing on top of the salad and stir it up really well.

Step 3:  Add the walnuts, cranberries, and a little Himalayan sea salt to taste!  Vegan chicken and/or quinoa also tastes great in this salad so feel free to add some!

Step 4:  Why are you still reading this?  Isn’t your salad ready by now?  Do you really need me to say “eat the salad” as step 4??  Go eat!!

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

